Northern Peninsula

Northern Peninsula

Cape York is at the very northern tip of Australia. It is a narrow peninsula with the Coral Sea to the east, the Arafura Sea and Gulf of Carpentaria to the west, and the Torres Strait to the north. Only 80 miles south of Australia?s nearest neighboring country Papua New Guinea the land is traditionally owned be the Indigenous Australians of the area. It is a land of two seasons, the wet and the dry. The wet season is between December and April and the dry season between May and November. It is warm all year. The Northern Peninsula Area (NPA) is made up of five indigenous communities, settled by clans from across Cape York and the Torres Strait. There are three aboriginal comunities; Injinoo, Umagico and New Mapoon, and two Saibai Islander communities; Seisia and Bamaga. The NPA region is approximately 1,000 kilometres north-west of Cairns by road.


Weather highlights

Air Quality

Weather highlights

Property Info

Want to know the regions latest property info - live data provided by

stdClass Object ( [message] => Authorization has been denied for this request. )

Nearby search

Google results for nearby locations

Local Council

Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council

Visit: Website